Taquito Friday

Hey everyone!

This week has been crazy – what with the below zero temperatures and the papers and projects and a sick boyfriend. But, as usual, I survived until the weekend. That’s the goal, isn’t it?
A quick note before I get on with this post, but I’m applying to be a writer for the Exponent. Wish me luck! It would be incredibly awesome to have another steady writing job (that is what I want to do after all).
There’s also one more quick update I have for you. I dropped the art major. I know I sounded so excited and determined – and I was – but I reevaluated what I wanted to do with my career and with school and decided it wasn’t the best option. I’m now doing the Writing major with a minor in Sociology. I was looking through the available classes in Sociology and I almost couldn’t limit myself to the necessary 15 credits. They’re all so fascinating. But now I’ve shared; let’s move on with these taquitos!

IT’S FRIIIDAY and that means taquitos. Basically what happens is that my friends buy whatever ingredients I need and I cook some delicious food! It’s always a good time with everyone here and happy and excited for dinner.

I love to cook. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned that here yet, but I do. It calms me down; it makes me happy. And when I can share it with friends, I’m all the happier for it! (Especially when it basically means free food for me.)

I usually don’t share recipes. I’m kind of a stickler about it, but I like you (because you read my blog and I assume you’re nice) so I’m going to share this one.

IMG_20140207_194955_697_edited-1

“Delicious rolls of heaven” – Conner

Chubby Chicken Taquitos
Ingredients:
3 cups chicken breast

6 ounces softened cream cheese

1/3 cup sour cream 

1/2 cup salsa

1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1 1/2 cups chopped baby spinach

flour tortillas
vegetable/canola oil for frying 

To-Do:
Cook your chicken and tear it into pieces (or buy pre-cooked rotisserie). Mix it in a bowl with all the other ingredients.

Wrap small amounts in tortillas, and fry in oil in a pan on the stove (or grill). Make sure the oil just coats the bottom of the pan, you’re just frying the tortilla, not the insides. The heat will melt all your cheeses and things together.
The frying process takes a while so I recommend turning the oven on to about 300 and putting the finished taquitos in there to keep warm.

Now go have your own Taquito Friday! And have a great weekend.

Since this post doesn’t have a picture yet, here’s a picture I took last summer of a super model calf:

DSCN2453_edited-1

Stay Awesome,
Sabrina

One response

Leave a Reply

