Bring Your Own Springtime

First of all, it’s gorgeous outside. It started out windy and cloudy and sad; now it’s breezy, sunny, and sixty degrees (almost).
Last Thursday I was outside all afternoon throwing the football, playing botchi ball, kicking the soccer ball around. I even got a miniscule sunburn.

Second of all, I have work in the morning, dark and early (that means 3:30 a.m.). Because guess what I haven’t told you yet. I GOT A JOB AS A BAKER.

a baker.

I love cooking; you know that much. When I was offered this job I just had to take it. HAD TO. I’ve been at it for a week now and I love the work. Mornings are hard, but the baking and the mixing and the cooking with the music blaring: I’m all about that.

Third of all, this.

Work at the Exponent is going great. I just got home from our weekly meeting about a half hour ago and I was thinking on the drive home, “I really do love this.” (This is referring to writing professionally). I’m all the more grateful for this job because it has really solidified the fact that I want to be a writing major. I wasn’t doubting it or anything, but I’m always glad for the reassurance.

As the end of the semester approaches, I can’t help but be excited for summer. My new job means I’ll be in Bozeman for the season. My home family isn’t thrilled, but I think the experience will be good for me and I love my family. I hope they know that.
I already got time off for the England and Ireland trip with the Honors College (OH MY GOD I AM GETTING EXCITED). And I got time off to go home for a week at the end of July.
Last year in my first ever writing class, I wrote and bound a creative book about my childhood in the magic place of Marble, CO. Since then, it’s sort of become a bible in my family and it has even done exactly what it set out to do. We’re going back to Marble after 6 or 7 summers of not making the trip. I can’t explain how unbelievably excited I am for this. I don’t think I could accurately describe the real feeling in the short time I have to write this blog. At some point, I’m going to sit down and write an actual response. How I feel now, how Marble is or how it has changed, how the trip was, how the family was. But that’s for a later date. I don’t want to get too mushy online in front of everyone.
And let me tell you something else. Bozeman, MT in the summertime is the place to be (ask the hundreds of tourists that march through). It’s gorgeous, it’s sunny, it’s warm, it’s hiking and biking and swimming and camping. It’s music on main, walking downtown, working at 3:30am. Shhh. It’s sunsets on Peet’s Hill and frisbee at Bogart Park as the farmer’s market gets set up.

BUT. As the end of the semester approaches, I can’t help but feel the unbelievable pressure that is the end of another semester of college. I counted to thirty and got too scared to keep going. That’s how many total pages I have to write before the end of the next two and a half weeks. I’m on the verge of panic, but I’m usually pretty good at keeping that under the radar. I got a bag of yogurt covered pretzels so I’ll be fine.

Lastly, I want to talk a little about the article I was just assigned for next week.
In Bozeman, MT there is an art gallery called The Cottonwood Club. On Saturday April 19 this gallery is having a Bring Your Own Art Show. That means that on a first come, first serve basis, artists come to the location with art they want to sell and have their own gallery showing with the Cottonwood Club. The gallery takes no commission so all the money goes to the artist. Besides the fact that I cannot wait to learn more about this gallery and its founder, I am absolutely taking some work to this event. ABSOLUTELY. I’m a writer so I should be able to explain how amazing I feel about this event and this gallery but I am struggling. As an artist, it’s absolutely wondrous. An event that is entirely founded and run for the artists. That’s unheard of. That’s charity. And generosity.
I’ll write another post after I write the preview for the article and actually attend the event. I can’t wait. Literally, I’m jumping in my chair.

Lastly lastly, here’s a picture of the dinner I just made myself.

10151973_10201488936496013_2257505773760725491_n
Always awesome,
Sabrina

One response

  1. Dear Sabrina,
    You will find that Marble has changed very little. You are the one that has changed from a wide eyed little girl to a beautiful young women. The old saying “You can’t go home” is basically correct but the home hasn’t changed much. Your idea of what it was, has. Beaver Lake is just the same. The Crystal River is just the same. Our fishing spot is just the same. Everytime Nana and I go back (which is almost every year) I think, thank goodness nothing has changed !
    So glad that Rachel is going to join us.
    I love you,
    Papa

Leave a Reply

